Skip to content

The Day There was no Donuts.

October 13, 2009

Friday is donut day. Or at least, that’s what I found out when I joined LucasArts. Wednesday rotates between donuts, pastries and bagels on a weekly basis. Most days – Monday, Tuesday, Thursday; you are on your own (no free treats). But Friday… there is always a box or two of donuts in each kitchen at work. Chocolate, colored sprinkles, sugar, jam infused… you name it and there is your own personal sugar rush. Between 9:15ish and 10:30am, people wander around with a slightly gleeful, blank look and there is occasional evidence of frosting and sprinkles on both desks and hands.

I admit I’m a bit of a healthy food freak. I have occasional peanut M&Ms lapses but usually my snacks consist of fruit and high fiber bars at work. I (mostly) resist doughnut days.

One Friday, I heard shrieks. Well, no so much shrieks but sounds of indignation. Our Swedish design lead, came straight to me. “Did you ask for fruit?” There were programmers in distress, who had skipped breakfast as usual on Friday in anticipation of donuts… only to be greeted by the frightful sight of… fruit! I have to admit I had mentioned offhandedly to an executive a month ago that I wished there was free fruit at work as well as donuts. But not “fruit instead of donuts”.  I would never want to deprive folks of their treats, just wanted to add to the treats.

Was my light-hearted comment linked to our current “all fruit, no doughnut” crisis?

One programmer came to me with the ultimate question. Was a banana the highest calorie fruit he could choose? Yes was my answer, and the riper it is, the greater the sugar content.

The shrieks and sighs continued throughout the morning as each person learned of the “Great Fruit Swap”. I was thrilled – there were nectarines, cherries; all sorts of exciting things. Food items quiet high in the sugar count, but all natural sugars.

Oddly by the end of the day almost all of the offending fruit was gone. Food is food is food. Especially when it is free. Since then, there have been alternating fruit and doughnut days on Friday although no one has figured out the rhythm.  Long live free fruit!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 10:43 am

    The recession brought an end to our Friday Munchies :(, Though Doughtnuts are pretty common when someone has a Birthday, usually at least once a week someone is getting older to the benefit of everyone else. OM NOM NOM NOM NOM

    And we have free fruit, daily. Though I seem to take less advantage of that than I should.

  2. LazyAndroid permalink
    October 13, 2009 11:06 am

    Is that a banana in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?

  3. October 13, 2009 12:19 pm

    I do miss Doughnut days, although it seems I find it increasingly hard to find anywhere that sells good quality ones these days. It all seems to be really nasty processed rubbish and not the hot apple filled fluffy creation that I adore.

    As for fruit…hmmm, I had a Banana in batter from my local Chinese restaurant the other day – does that count?

  4. Ciaran permalink
    October 13, 2009 2:52 pm

    Wish we had free fruit over at ILM.

  5. October 13, 2009 11:02 pm

    Haha, love it. Maybe just get fruit-shaped donuts?

  6. October 15, 2009 1:50 am

    what would you do if you were assaulted by a banana fiend?

Leave a Reply

