Skip to content

Tickling the Ivories

September 21, 2009

I’m going to try something new for us here.  I wanted to share with everyone a piece of music from Lucidity called “Carte d’Etoile” (or “Star Map” as it would be in English).  This is the music which accompanies Lucidity‘s main Map screen.

That’s not all, though…

Lucidity (25)Although we’ve never done this before, I’m also going to make available to those who want it the sheet music for “Carte d’Etoile.”  The song is for solo piano and Jedi Mudkip thought it would be cool to see if anyone wanted to film themselves performing it and send us a link.

What do you think?  Anyone interested?

Carte d’Etoile Reprise – Link to Sound File

Lucidity_CarteDEtoile – Link to Sheet Music

Jedi Mudkip says:

The song is a really begautiful piece of music, and I know our fanbase is incredibly talented. I’m certain some of the more exotic instruments are out there waiting for you to play  – or even remix – the song. Might even feature you on our blog. Just might.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Diego permalink
    September 21, 2009 6:20 pm

    Thanks Jesse! I’m a big fan of your music, and I believe it’s a great piece. Why did you write it down like that, with the 5/4 and 3/4 instead of 4/4 ? And would it be possible to see more music sheets from your compositions?
    Thanks so much for sharing, congrats.

    • Jesse permalink
      September 21, 2009 6:41 pm

      Good question. I wrote it with alternating bars of 5 4 and 3 4 because, when I started to write the piece, that’s how the phrases naturally felt as though they broke down.

      Yes, I could have written it in 4 4 . You’ll notice, however, that if I’d written it in 4 4, almost every other bar of alternating 4 would have started with two eighth-notes tied across the barline. As it is now with alternating bars of 5 and 3, each of the last eighth-notes in the bars of 5 4 feel like pick-ups to the bars of 3 4. For a piece that is so free with its performance, this just felt the most natural to me when it came to breaking it down into organized phrases.

      As for other sheet music, we’ll have to wait and see. Like I said, we’re trying something new here and I’ll have to wait and see what the reaction to it is from people.

      • Diego permalink
        September 22, 2009 8:39 pm

        Thanks for the answer! I asked because those fifths on the left hand always start on each 5/4 beat 1, but I can definitely tell what the idea is. Besides, the writing style adds to the modernism, and it’s easier to tell after playing it.
        Were you the one who chose to title the tune in French? My (very weak) jedi senses tell me you chose French in honor to Satie (but of course, my jedi senses fail more often than they work) =)
        It’s kinda late now, but I’ll post a few videos tomorrow. Thanks for the sheets again!

    • Jesse permalink
      September 23, 2009 10:16 am

      I am the one who named all of the tracks, but your Jedi skills have let you down a little this time. ; )

      No, the reason I chose to name the song in French is because, early in the game’s development, concept artist Andrea Rhodes did a piece where Sofi was sitting in her bed reading some French novel. Anyway, when it came time to start naming the music tracks, I decided that I’d pay homage to both the early concept art and name this track in French.

  2. ryan permalink
    September 22, 2009 4:25 pm

    I would have written it as one bar of 90/4 but that’s just me. 😛

  3. Bagge permalink
    September 22, 2009 6:03 pm

    Here’s my guitar version of the theme:

    • Jesse permalink
      September 22, 2009 6:16 pm

      Bagge, this is great. I love how you’ve reimagined it. It’s fairly different from the original, but at its heart there’s still the same sense of serenity. It definitely feels like it fits in with the rest of the “Lucidity” soundtrack. Great work. : )

    • Jedi Mudkip permalink*
      September 22, 2009 7:02 pm

      This is awesome.

  4. September 23, 2009 12:31 am

    Ok then, here is my oddest cover to date. Although I really like the original I have to admit it’s a bit unusual choice for a song to do a version of. I spent a couple of hours trying to match the idea I had in my mind with what was actually turning out to be. Since I don’t know how to read music (I once knew, then I forgot) I basically just learned the main motif and used it as the base for something slightly new. It might get a bit messy, that’s why I kept it short, so without any further chit chat, here it is:

    Carte d’Etoile (Asian Version) by twiny

    Or the link in case it doesn’t embed properly:

    • Jesse permalink
      September 23, 2009 10:06 am

      Ha! Love it. It’s funny – you’re totally right. Solo piano is such an odd piece to pick for a remix. And yet, so far we have two different versions which are radically different from both each other and the original.

      When I decided that I was going to write the piece based on a pentatonic scale centered entirely on the black keys of the piano, I knew that I’d have to be very careful. It’s so easy for those five notes to end up sounding either “asian” or “native american”, as the cliches established by old Hollywood cartoon scores go. It’s really interesting to see you completely embrace that approach.

      Thanks so much for sharing, Sam. Nice job. : )

      • September 23, 2009 11:13 am

        That’s absolutely true, the black keys of the piano always remind me of those themes and when I was playing around with the tune the “asian” flavor just came naturally to me.
        I’m glad you liked it! I’m really looking forward for more Lucidity music, so far I’m loving it.

  5. Diego permalink
    September 23, 2009 10:02 pm

    OK, so here’s my video! I realized nobody did what Jesse suggested in the first place: recording ourselves playing the music.

    I’ll post something else later, some variation or arrangement. Cheers! I hope you enjoy it.

    • Diego permalink
      September 23, 2009 10:23 pm

      Oh I forgot a detail: I believe there’s a box behind me in the video. Who knows, it might be a series for which I want to see a special edition, but I’m not sure I’m kinda confused. 😀 I’m happy for Lucidity now.
      Do you guys remember the coda Bajakian and/or Land and/or McConnell wrote for the Imperial March in the Tie Fighter opening crawl? It was beautiful!! I’d love to hear that played by a human orchestra. If my little school band pupils ever play The Imperial March, I swear I’ll attach that coda to it (as long as LucasArts agrees, hehehe).
      Another detail that I forgot to mention is that my little new female cat now has a name. She is very, very shy, but she came into the room with a lot of interest while I was playing Carte d’Etoile. She didn’t had a name, and we couldn’t agree on one, but after that I decided to name her Lucidity, and call her Lucy. The rest of the family agreed 🙂

      • September 24, 2009 12:00 pm

        Pretty neat Diego!
        I can’t get to see what game is the box behind you, it’s a bit blurry.

        Una pregunta, por casualidad sos Argentino?

      • Diego permalink
        September 24, 2009 12:33 pm

        ¡Sí, soy argentino! ¿Vos también? There are so many Lucasarts fans from Argentina!!

        And thanks by the way! I loved your version too. It always amuses me to see what a composer looks at whenever they write a variation or a complementary theme, and your approach was great.

        The box behind me is X-Wing Collector’s Series. Darrell Rodriguez mentioned plans for the saga, so we’ll see what these guys are up to! A special edition, considering todays capabilites, would be badass. Now’s the time when gaming technology can finally match what we saw in the movies. And talking about music, I’d love to hear the opening theme for Tie Fighter recorded by a real orchestra, just because of that nice coda the former composers had written.

      • Jesse permalink
        September 24, 2009 3:40 pm

        Great work, Diego. I really enjoyed this. You play it better than I do. : )

        I don’t consider myself a piano player, so the performance in “Lucidity” is actually done by our resident Music Assistant, Mr. Wilbert Roget, II.

        Sounds great. Thanks so much for sharing, Diego.

      • Diego permalink
        September 25, 2009 7:51 pm

        Thanks Jesse! I doubt I play it better than you, but thanks for the compliment, haha. Again, it’s a great theme, I’m glad to hear something that moves away a bit from the classic, romantic/nationalist inspired themes that John Williams so beautifully stablished for soundtracks in general (andstill keeping the academic side on it). The style seems to suit Lucidity very well.

        I had started working on a transcription of the theme first, but it was too late in the night already and I had to go to class the morning after, so I decided to just print the sheet the way it was and play it on the piano. I’m not a pianist either, I’m a guitarrist, but I took piano as a secondary instrument, so I could at least try to play it.

        Would you still like to hear some more versions of the theme? I’m starting to feel like I’m wasting your time, so I don’t want to keep you watching and hearing everybody’s stuff forever. I’m sorry I didn’t have time to do more versions right away, I’m on a busy schedule :S.

        Thanks for being close to the fans guys.

        Diego

        P.S.: And if you feel like it and have a second to spare, please share your thoughts about old Lucasarts soundtracks 🙂

  6. Dave permalink
    October 11, 2009 4:28 am

    Jesse, now Im not home in the 5/4 and ”bars” slanging stuff and so. Simply cause I dont play the piano, neither as any instrument at all. though I am a real music fanatic, from a whole range of category’s. I think the music that is used in the game fits the game perfectly, I personally as an fanatic music listener and gamer, couldnt have imagined a better music style either as the music itself used in the game, when I played the trail and found your star map at the map screen, I sometimes just played a stage and left the game at the map screen, just to listen to your star map. now Im glad you shared it so I now can listen to it anytime. even on my Mp3 player.. I havent heard such a warm, and calming piece of music since John Murphy’s ”Who are you” soundtrack for Miami Vice. I love it. I enjoy it, and thank you for sharing it, Your an musical genius.

  7. ryan permalink
    October 17, 2009 3:28 am

    i must say you are a very good composer, and the guitar version crossed me as odd, it was the same and yet different (in a good way) i wonder how this would sound on different instruments?

    • Jesse permalink
      October 21, 2009 10:10 am

      Thanks, Ryan. : )

Trackbacks

  1. Lucidity’s art and music inspired each other| XboxSold.com where you find Everything Xbox| XboxSold.com BLOG
  2. Twitter Trackbacks for Tickling the Ivories « [lucasartsworkshop.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com
  3. Lucidity’s art and music inspired each other | Video Gamer Now-The Ultimate Gaming and Entertainment Site

Leave a Reply

